Koji Kondo

Koji Kondo is a Japanese composer and musician best known for his scores for various video games produced by Nintendo.

Koji Kondo is widely acclaimed thanks to his unique partnership crafting the most recognizable themes and sound-tracks with industry giant Nintendo (and to his credit, a creatively fluent partnership with Shigeru Miyamoto). Fans and critics alike cite his greatest talent being his ability to craft melodies that while catchy and pleasant upon first listen, remain enjoyable even when looped over long periods of time and played through inferior sound equipment. His songs are certainly memorable; the title theme song to Super Mario Bros. retains its iconic status two decades after its initial release. Not unknown in the musical community, Mr. Kondo can count talent such as Paul McCartney among his admirers.[1] Kondo’s music has been cited as being as integral to the Nintendo style as the game design of Shigeru Miyamoto.

Video game Soundtracks

  • Duck Hunt (1984)
  • Golf (1984)
  • Famicom BASIC (1984)
  • Devil World (with Akito Nakatsuka) (1984)
  • Soccer (1985)
  • Wrecking Crew (1985)
  • Kung Fu (1985)
  • Super Mario Bros. (1985)
  • Mystery of Murasame Castle (1986)
  • The Legend of Zelda (1986, 1987)
  • Shin Oni Ga Shima (1987)
  • Yume Kōjō: Doki Doki Panic (credited as Konchan) (1987)
  • Ice Hockey (1988)
  • Super Mario Bros. 2 (1986)[3]
  • Super Mario Bros. 3 (1988, 1990)
  • Pilotwings (with Soyo Oka) (1990)
  • Super Mario World (1991)
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (1991)
  • Super Mario Kart (1992)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (1993)
  • Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island (1995)
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars (with Yoko Shimomura and Nobuo Uematsu) (1996)
  • Super Mario 64 (1996)
  • Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie Kong’s Double Trouble! (1996)
  • Star Fox 64 (with Hajime Wakai) (1997)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (1998)
  • Super Smash Bros. (with several others) (1999)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (with Toru Minegishi) (2000)
  • Super Smash Bros. Melee (with several others) (2001)
  • Super Mario Sunshine (with Shinobu Tanaka) (2002)
  • The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker (with Kenta Nagata, Hajime Wakai, and Toru Minegishi) (2003)
  • New Super Mario Bros. (with Asuka Ohta and Hajime Wakai) (2006)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (with Toru Minegishi and Asuka Ohta) (2006)
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl (with several others) (2008)
  • Super Mario Galaxy (with Asuka Ohta) (2007)

0 Responses to “Koji Kondo”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

November 2007
    Dec »

Blog Stats

  • 921,164 hits

%d bloggers like this: